Sarah’s First Post

Hello, my name is Sarah.  I am a first year MPA student and currently working on a Waste Stream Development project.  The goal of the project is to bring economic development to Athens County by using recyclables and re-routing the current waste stream.  I am passionate about green works and sustainability so when the proposal for this project was introduced I jumped at the chance to help my community and region.

I am fortunate for this opportunity to learn about non-profit work in a controlled environment through the MPA practicum.  It gives me a chance to use what I have gleaned from the classroom and use it in real world situations.  But I also get the advice from my professors’ aka my safety net.  I know if I have a question or problem that I can go to them for help and will learn how to then handle a similar situation on my own the next time.

Having a mentor in this process is vital for success especially with a recent development in my project. I had an eventful first week back after winter break.  My team of two became a team of one, my partner sadly decided to not continue the program for personal reasons.  I hope that he finds happiness in whatever field he decides to continue his studies in.   It was very short notice but I refuse to let difficulties and obstacles hinder my progress.  My first move after learning the news was talking to Anita; she is the advisor for the practicum.  She immediately told me to stop freaking out and that everything would be all right.  She was right.  I am now working at my own pace, decision-making and time management are non-issues and I was inspired by a new idea today that might be a great way to get funding for our project.  Hopefully I am on a roll!

My first official meeting with the Waste Stream Development group is Thursday and I want to go into the meeting with confidence and a new plan of action.  Change can be hard but hopefully for me change will create new opportunities and help me further the goals of my project.

One thought on “Sarah’s First Post

Leave a Reply:

