Ending up Where I Need to Be

I spent a good part of the first few weeks of school trying to explain to some of the incoming Master of Public Administration students what on earth to expect in graduate school. I even gave a speech about it. But, frankly, there’s only so much advice you can give—you have to experience it to understand.

Regardless, I want to use this forum to give you some insight into what life is like for a second-year MPA student. Keep in mind that every student I know has had a different experience in graduate school thus far—from the types of projects, to the organizations they have been involved with, to the types of classes they have taken. The beauty of this program is that you choose your path and have the opportunity to follow your passion.

A little bit of background on myself: My name is Amanda Janice, and I am focusing my studies in nonprofit and government management. One day I’ll figure out exactly what I want to do with my life, but for now I’ll enjoy the ride. I work on an Economic Development Administration grant through the Voinovich School, which provides technical assistance to local counties and communities. I love my job. I have also had the pleasure of working with Passion Works Studio (read back to my archive on this blog to find out more about this experience). I worked this past summer for Habitat for Humanity of Ohio, creating guidance tools for affiliates across Ohio.

My focus in school thus far has been data analysis and the practical side of public administration. The classes I’m currently taking include: U.S. Fiscal Policy, the Economics of Poverty, and Program Evaluation. We have officially reached the over-drive portion of the quarter (read: T-minus 3 weeks until finals! AHH!).

Overall, I want to do something with my degree. One day I’ll try to get my PhD, but for now, I’m looking forward to getting some work experience.

Next week, I’ll fill you all in on classes, the (relative) excitement of this week and what I’ve got planned for the next couple of months. Brace yourself and it’ll be worth the wait!

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite quotes, by one of my favorite authors: “I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”- Douglas Adams

Food for thought 🙂 Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply:

