Introducing Annie White

Hi all, my name is Annie White and I’m a first-year MPA student in the Voinovich school. A seasoned Bobcat, I come to the Voinovich MPA program after an undergraduate career in the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism here at OU as a journalism/public relations major. During undergrad, I served on the executive board of the OU chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) and was an account member in the student-run public relations firm, ImPRessions.

I spent the summer of 2011 in Washington, D.C. interning for the Congresswoman representing my district from my home state of West Virginia. I have always been passionate about politics, but this summer confirmed for me that one day I hope to pursue a career in the field.

Outside of my studies, I am a competitive synchronized skater and have been coaching the sport since I was 16. I have been coaching here in Athens since coming to OU, which has made me feel deeply connected to the community and even the state, something I didn’t have coming in as a freshman out-of-state student.

The first weeks of the program have been great so far, one thing I always felt I didn’t get enough of in undergrad was learning metrics tools. In eight weeks, I’ve learned more of this than in four years of undergrad. I can’t wait to see where the rest of this journey takes me.

Leave a Reply:

