The Art of Procrastination

Hello everyone! It will be a short blog for today—being week 9, there is a lot to do and little time to do it, or so it seems. Classes are coming to an end, and despite enjoying the subject matter, the work seems to pile up.

This week I am finishing up my annotated bibliography for Program Evaluation, which will be used in my final evaluation project, centered on the role of substance abuse treatment as means to reduce recidivism for recently re-entered offenders. The topic itself is interesting and trying to devise a means to evaluate my own imaginary program is a welcomed challenge. In any type of public work, evaluating programs is slowly becoming more and more important, given the emphasis on accountability and results in government and nonprofit programs.

I will also be helping to donate and serve a lunch at the Nelsonville Community Center this week. For my Economics of Poverty class, we are required to complete 10 service hours within Athens County. I was assigned to work with Job and Family Services, which works with a number of nonprofits to complete its mission of providing social services to those in need in the county. Working at the Nelsonville Community Center has been a great experience—the entire organization is family-run, and Rhonda, the director, is very dedicated to helping those in the Nelsonville community.

This week I will be spending at least one evening in the library trying to get ahead on my work. Keep your fingers crossed for me that I don’t get bitten by the lazy-bug!

“Procrastination is the art of keeping up with yesterday.-“ Don Marquis

Leave a Reply:

