A Plethora of Distractions

Why does it seem like I can never finish what I start? I’ve been wrapping my head around this question for weeks. No matter how hard I try, I am never able to sit down and complete an assignment or task without some form of distraction. Even as I write this blog, I am tempted to check my Facebook, e-mail, or LinkedIn account. Admittedly, I am not above the temptation of social media and I strangely enjoy the spasmodic ramblings of friends and acquaintances. I could lie to myself and vow to close down my Facebook account, but I know I am far too obsessed to make that kind of commitment!

I wouldn’t say I am addicted to social media; it is more like an unhealthy hobby. Every day, I can check up on my friends and gather an unnatural amount of information on people I don’t really know. Though I agree with Mark Zuckerburg’s campaign to make the world a more connected place, I am fearful of how social media is changing interpersonal communication.  As a millennial, I remember what the world was like before cell phones, CD players, and AOL install discs. Though I was unable to stream my favorite TV shows over an information superhighway, I was able to have fun without complicated technology. Back then, my imagination dictated the level of fun I had for the day.

Granted, adults have always held an affinity for losing their imagination and complicating the lives of others. However, the way in which adults communicate and complete tasks is becoming simple and almost remedial. More adults are becoming diagnosed with ADHD and social media is becoming more robust and ubiquitous. Why does it seem like we can never finish what we start? Maybe it is because technology has quickened communication and made us more available to other tasks. Or it may be due to the plethora of distractions that surround us every minute of every day. Americans are soaked with information and it will be interesting to see how our minds adapt to this ever-flowing torrent.

–Andrew

“When does a kid ever get to sit in the yard with a stick anymore? You know? Just sit there with a stick. Do today’s kids even know what a stick is? You sit in the yard with a stick… and you dig a hole. And you look at the hole, and you look at the stick… and you have a little fun.” –George Carlin

Leave a Reply:

