The Business of Meaning-Making

What if you could change the world? I mean, really change it. How would you make a difference? What would be your first order of business?

These are the questions I have been contemplating for a while. Growing up, I had no intentions of changing the world or even making an impact. I just wanted to be happy. And in that quest for happiness, I have learned some valuable life lessons. Lessons I have shared and spread from Buffalo to Ohio. I don’t think of myself as a “world changer,” I just think of myself as Andy.

I believe that all interactions have meaning. A polite conversation, a passing insult, a loving high-five; all of these interactions carry some sort of importance. I guess I consider myself in the business of meaning-making. From friendships to relationships, I have worked hard to make every moment memorable. Though this has been a challenging mission at times, I have always found the reward to be well worth the cost.

As mentioned, I never set out to change the world. I did, however, set out to be happy. As loved-ones become successful, I am energized by their excitement and determination. For me, there is no greater feeling than when friends succeed. It might seem like I am using the success of others as some sort of stop-gap for my own shortfalls. However, I believe that friends are supposed to inspire us toward personal and professional betterment.

As I look beyond Ohio University, I know I have much to learn. However, the education I have received, in and out of the classroom, has prepared me for the next step. Though I have no intentions of changing the world, I hope to make it a little happier. By sharing the information I have learned and treasuring new friendships, I am certain I can make real change possible. As it has been said many times, “It is not about the destination, it is about the journey.” I am in the business of meaning-making and I will continue to make every moment memorable.

-Andrew

“…the individual is defined only by his relationship to the world and to other individuals; he exists only by transcending himself, and his freedom can be achieved only through the freedom of others. He justifies his existence by a movement which, like freedom, springs from his heart but which leads outside of himself.” -Simone de Beauvoir

Leave a Reply:

