The Slow Burn

Is this what writer’s block feels like?

I can’t explain why I have been unable to write cohesive sentences or formulate ideas lately. Maybe it is the mid-quarter crawl or maybe I’m just burnt out. Either way, I’ll sit down at my computer, roll up my sleeves, and pound out a simple phrase on the keyboard, such as: “Creating public value.”

I’ll think to myself, “now we’re cooking.” After a few minutes of typing, editing, deleting, retyping, and more deleting, I’ll come back to the phrase I started on and realize I’ve gotten nowhere. I’ll do this for hours. With each passing moment, I second guess myself and critique each word choice as though my work is critical to the continuation of academia, as we know it. Clearly, I may be a bit overcritical of my work.

I am not certain whether this indecisiveness stems from a fear of writing of a lack of motivation. Perhaps it is a combination of both. Recently, my wife found a job in Pittsburgh, PA. Though this job has been a great addition to our income and career opportunities, I feel withdrawn from Athens. Unfortunately, this feeling has not aided my thesis research. While I am still able to finish my assignment on time and produce above average work, I feel as though my ideas are scattered.

“Creating public value … in America.” Progress is sometimes slow, but I have made some advancement. I don’t know how to deal with this writer’s block. Maybe I should go running or spend a weekend immersed in literature. Either way, I just need to sit down at my computer, roll up my sleeves, and make something happened.

-Andrew

“You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.” -Ray Bradbury

2 thoughts on “The Slow Burn

Leave a Reply:

