Introducing Elizabeth Migliore

It hasn’t been the greatest week.  Being sick with the flu has made me fall behind on school work yet again, and imminent deadlines loom even closer.  Lately it seems as though I’m stuck running on a treadmill, not getting ahead but simply trying to keep up.

It is during weeks like this when it is always a good idea to step back and have some perspective.  To remember that I have a rare opportunity most 22 year olds do not get.  Not only am I gaining a higher education at no cost, thanks to my GA position, but I am pursuing a degree in what I am passionate about.  While the majority of people find jobs simply to pay rent, I am working towards a career where I can fight for what I believe in every day, and feel that I am (in at least some minuscule way) making a difference in the world.

When I am particularly overwhelmed, I find nothing works better to give me a sense of perspective than taking a walk in the woods (the Ridges being a great place to do so).  Always the sense of tranquility I find in nature reminds me of why I went into the environmental field in the first place, and why I am now giving every second of my life towards the MSES program.  I breathe in, I breathe out, and I realize I am fortunate to have this chance.

Leave a Reply:

