Allow Yourself to be Humbled

Due to some recent events in my personal life, I’ve been more aware of my immediate surroundings than I had been in a while. Just because you’re physically present doesn’t mean you’re invested mentally and emotionally in what’s presently happening around you. In a way, life’s been full of distractions lately, but at the same time it’s made me re-evaluate where I fit in the world and what purpose I have for being here. Also, is it that life’s really complicated, or that I’m just more fully cognizant? It’s just an interesting time to be rewiring my frame of mind while writing papers, crafting the looming budgeting course’s report, researching for my Human Resources internship and GRS work hours, applying for summer internships/jobs, drumming and dancing with Azaguno, figuring out where I am to live next year, and of course, socializing with my peers.

The moral of this naïve blogger’s incredibly short story is that life’s a juggling act. And it’s a beautiful, humbling thing. Judging from what I’ve learned and observed from professors and full-time staff at the Voinovich School, my previous work and internship supervisors, and co-directors of the nonprofit Azaguno, you shouldn’t let experiences outside your comfort zone dissuade you from taking chances. If you make a fool out of yourself, you’ve learned something out of it. Plus it’s a good story later. They’ve made me realize that the more you discover, the more you realize there is so much yet to learn. This is in part why I really want to earn my Environmental Sustainability Certificate at the Voinovich School. Although I only took one environmental health class during my undergraduate studies, I’ve always had an interest in the way humans have impacted the global ecology. The Voinovich School offers an excellent opportunity for me to pursue that interest and potentially pursue a career in the field. These leaders have taught me not to lose sight of my interests, but to prioritize them. They’ve asked me to describe where I’d like my experiences to take me and I have felt guilty of responding with uncertainty every time. However, to my surprise, they’ve told me to embrace such ambiguity. Some of the most interesting people in the world made it not because they followed a linear path to success but because they were open to alternative means of reaching multiple ends.

Everyone should be allowed to do the things they love and take pride in their passions. I think the key to success in anything is learning through experience, acknowledging what you know, but more importantly opening your mind to what you don’t. Be humble, live, and learn.

—Roman Suer

Leave a Reply:

