Introducing Kylie Johnson

Hello readers of my first blog post!

Where should I begin? Let me start with the basics….

I am a second year graduate student in the MSES program focusing on environmental communication and education. It seems like just yesterday I was starting my first quarter at OU, excited about a new adventure in my life and new possibilities. Before coming to OU, I earned my undergraduate degree in Conservation Science at Muskingum University and then spent a year working in retail while I decided what road I wanted to travel next in my life.

I applied to several  graduate programs around the country, carefully looking at all my options and following the advice in the book, Saving the Planet as a Career (I would highly recommend reading this if you are new to the world of academia). Little did I realize at the time that Athens (a short one hour drive from my hometown of Zanesville) would end up being my home. When my acceptance letter to OU came, I felt I had hit the jackpot. Not only was I accepted into the Environmental Studies program at the Voinovich School, I was chosen to serve as a GA in the Office of Sustainability AND live as a resident at the OHIO Ecohouse (ohio.edu/ecohouse)! It seemed like the perfect fit…my academics, work, and personal life would all be fused into an opportunity of a lifetime to expand my knowledge and passion for the environment.

That was a year and a half ago, and I am still as thankful now as I was then for my graduate experience. I am currently funded by the U.S. Forest Service and the Baltimore Ecosystem Study to carry out my thesis research pertaining to urban sustainability, specifically urban composting programs. My research focuses on three cities, Washington, DC; Baltimore, MD; and Edinburgh, Scotland. After spending this past summer in Scotland studying sustainable development and conducting research, I realized that international sustainability is what sparks my excitement the most in the ever-expanding field of environmental studies.

So that leads me to where I am now…writing away at my thesis, looking ahead to graduation in a few short months, and wondering where my next adventure in life will lead.

Leave a Reply:

