Stress, Stress, Stress

Is it seriously the end of the quarter??!! As we are beginning Week 9 and moving quickly on to Week 10 and finals week, I have to stop and try to take a deep breath. Where on earth did this quarter go? Though I feel unnecessarily old saying this, as I’ve gotten older, it seems that time just flies by. Maybe it’s because I’ve been so busy, but I’m still wrapping my mind around it already being March!

I’ve finished many of my intermediary projects and papers for the quarter, have moved on to trying to prepare for exams (Eek!) and am preparing currently to hand over the reigns of Passion Works Volunteer Coordination to the Spring Intern that we chose. Because I have so long to prepare for finals, I’m feeling pretty confident about being able to handle the stress, which is very unlike any other finals week I’ve experienced in graduate school. Generally, at this point, I’m completely wigging out, trying to get a handle on my stress, and attempting to organize my life in a way that spreads out the work.

I normally deal with stress in a couple of ways:

  1. Deep breaths and yoga: Just taking 15 minutes to do some sun salutations and deep breathing helps to calm me and bring down my blood pressure and pulse. I have historically low blood pressure, but stress always gets to me!
  2. Taking a long walk: Yes, it’s time consuming. Yes, I spend the beginning of that time thinking about work. But then I relax. This can also be substituted with a Zumba class. Goodness, do I love to Zumba, or what?
  3. Work for 90 minutes then take a half hour break: We had a life and career coach visit out practicum class last year who suggested this strategy and it works! After an hour and a half, I can’t function as creatively and as efficiently as I had before. Taking the break allows me to cool off, revitalize my mind, and prepare myself for more work.

Check out some other stress relief tips:

  1. Get enough sleep! Lack of rest just aggravates stress.
  2. Change the way you see your situation; seek alternative viewpoints: Stress is a reaction to events and problems, and you can lock yourself in to one way of viewing your situation.  Seek an outside perspective of the situation, compare it with yours. and perhaps lessen your reaction to these conditions.
  3. Don’t sweat the small stuff: Try to prioritize a few truly important things and let the rest slide
  4. Don’t overwhelm yourself by fretting about your entire workload. Handle each task as it comes, or selectively deal with matters in some priority

Source: How to Deal with Stress

How do you deal with stress? Any tips I can take under advisement?

Happy Week 9!

Leave a Reply:

