Spring Fever

It’s only week two of spring quarter, and I am already feeling the pressure! I don’t usually start feeling this way until about week 7, but things are different this quarter since it is my LAST quarter before I graduate!

There are plenty of things to keep me busy over the next few months. First and foremost, my thesis work is taking major priority in my life right now. Most days you can find me on the quiet floor of the library typing away. The recommended date to have your thesis turned in to your committee is May 4th, so that gives me just five short weeks to turn in my best work.

This quarter will also be busy with exciting developments at the Ecohouse. We are still in the process of turning our garden into a functional community garden space. We have already built four raised beds and will continue having garden work days to construct more plots for students or interested community members. If you’re interested in volunteering or having a plot, please contact me!

In addition to the community garden project, spring is a busy time at the Ecohouse for tour groups and workshops. One of my roommates and I will be hosting a workshop for Earth Month on how to make your own eco-friendly soap and laundry detergent. There is also going to be a permaculture workshop April 14th and 15th, and there is still space available to participate if you’re interested. I will also be leading a composting workshop the first week of May for International Compost Awareness Week.

On top of all these things going on, I will need to fulfill my 14 project hours required of me at the Ecohouse, apply for graduation, apply for jobs, and successfully defend my thesis. While all these things are stressful, I can still say that with the arrival of the warm weather I have contracted a case of Spring Fever! Although my to-do list is long, I can’t help but feel energized and excited about the changes and new opportunities ahead.

Leave a Reply:

