Networking and Experiencing a New City

Happy Week 4! Believe it or not, the quarter is almost half done—seems a little unreal.

This week is going to be especially crazy because I’m headed to D.C. on Wednesday morning! I’m tagging along with Brian, another second year MPA student, who is headed there on Voinovich School business. I was originally planning to try to schedule more meetings with alumni while I’m there, but decided against it.

“But, Amanda, networking is key! I can’t count the number of times you’ve talked endlessly about networking! Doesn’t it seem odd that you’re going to waste time while you are there?!!” I know, I know, devoted reader. I also appreciate your concern. However, I was just in D.C. and am going to be attending at least two Happy Hours and possibly a lunch meeting, so I’ve decided that I’m going to take some time and enjoy the city.

Something that I have heard over and over is that, once you move to the city, you don’t really do any of the touristy activities. One of the reasons why I fell in love with D.C. was the history, museums, and overall awesome-ness. I know for a fact that after the move, I won’t have time to enjoy it as much as on a fun trip there.

So I’m going to take my new copy of “The Hunger Games” (I’m finally giving in), as well as a couple of books for class, to the National Mall, enjoy the weather (sunny and 73 degrees on Thursday!) and read. And people watch. And remember why I love the city. And take in as much as I can now, before I become a hardened Washingtonian. 😉

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.”― Eleanor Roosevelt

Does anyone else have any out-of-the-ordinary plans for Week 4?

-Amanda

One thought on “Networking and Experiencing a New City

  1. The tourist point–is true for me! I have lived in a in a couple different citites, and I always go in thinking I am going to see all these amazing attractions, but then I get wrapped up in my job and also the notion that I am trying to become part of the city, which usually meant for me giving up some of my touristy fascinations so I fit in a bit more. –Sam

Leave a Reply:

