One Day At A Time

Reading some of the posts from my fellow bloggers, I realize that many of us are sharing the same sentiment of time flying by this quarter. There are only six weeks left in the quarter, meaning there is only six weeks left in my career as a graduate student. While I wish I could spend my last months as a grad student just catching up with friends and enjoying the lovely days of Spring, the reality is that I have no choice but to spend the majority of my time in front of this computer, devoted to my thesis work.

With the May 4th deadline quickly approaching, I haven’t really had a lot of free time. However, I did have some great times fishing with friends and gardening last week to break up the monotony of researching. Being outside is my favorite way to relieve stress, so feeling the cool breeze in my face by the lake and weeding the garden was just what the doctor ordered. Plans for the community garden are finally coming to fruition, and the garden work days have transformed the garden into a functioning space to share.

Although I have been busy working on my thesis and garden planning at the Ecohouse, I still make sure to keep up on the job search every week. This week I was ecstatic to find out that I was chosen as a top 10 finalist for the Sierra Club’s “Best Internship on Earth,” working as the 2012 Outdoor Youth Ambassador for the summer! This internship would be an opportunity of a lifetime, allowing me to travel out West for the first time while inspiring our next generation to love the outdoors as much as I do. This internship was very competitive with about 100 applicants vying for the position. I have been preparing for my phone interview this Wednesday and am excited to have made it this far in the selection process!

The juggling act of this quarter is enough to make anyone crazy, but I keep thinking about the end result and how thankful I will be that I stayed strong through the struggle and achieved my goals. I have found that the best way to keep my stress under control and manage the tasks ahead of me is to take the challenge one day at a time. Setting small goals has helped me to feel accomplished and makes the monster task of writing a thesis seem much more manageable. This would be my advice to future grad students who feel stressed about the tasks ahead of them.

Leave a Reply:

