Crunch Time

Is the quarter really halfway over already? For me it always feels like time goes faster during Spring quarter probably due to the warm weather and longer hours of daylight. Although, this week has been marked by some unseasonably cold weather, but it hasn’t affected me too much since I have been inside working feverishly on my thesis.

Apart from being lost in deep writing mode this week, I had my phone interview for the Sierra Club’s Best Internship on Earth. This was my first phone interviewing experience, and I can say that I learned a lot from the experience. It’s a challenge not being face to face with the person on the other line because you can’t tell how they are reacting to your responses. I feel confident about the answers I was able to give, and I will wait to hear back the first week in May for the results. Even if I don’t get the internship, I don’t regret taking the time to apply because I gained valuable interviewing experience and won an awesome $150 pair of shoes from the Vivobarefoot company for my efforts!

Besides the interview, I was privileged this week to participate in a concert on Earth Day. I was originally asked to emcee and play my violin for the event which was centered around a princess theme. However, I was able to influence the direction of the concert to be more geared towards an Earth Day. I had the opportunity to talk about the history of Earth Day and the importance of inspiring awareness and appreciation worldwide for our environment. At the end of the concert, I was completely surprised to be honored for my work in the community as Miss Muskingum Valley. In honor of all the work that I have done in the name of sustainability, there will be a tree planted with a plaque at the high school I attended. It was such an honor to have this done for me, and it was especially sweet to receive the news on Earth Day.

While the concert was a nice break from my everyday routine, I must now convert back to deep writing mode again. My goal is to have my thesis turned in by the end of next week, so it’s crunch time! Hopefully when it’s time to update my blog for next week, I will be writing to tell you that I am nearly finished with my thesis. Until then, have a great week!

Leave a Reply:

