Thoughts on Nearing the End of Spring Quarter

The weather is starting to look beautiful (aside from the rain) and the flowers are blooming (or so says my allergies), so I suppose it is officially spring time.

Just when it gets to the pretty part of the quarter, that’s when all the work seems to happen (funny how that works…)! I’m ramping up my job application productivity and am now actively searching for places to live in D.C.! Scary, but pretty awesome. Tonight, a bunch of second years are getting together at the library to work on our portfolio. This way, we can get feedback from each on edits and just have some overall moral support. This is one of the many reasons why I love my cohort. My portfolio is due in 11 days to my committee (Eep!), so it’s probably a good idea that we are working on it now.

In class, we just finished an “ask” simulation, where we role played a one-on-one fundraising scenario. It was informative, we got to ask questions, and we were able to critique/learn from each others presentations. I’m still not convinced fundraising is something I’ll want to go into, but activities like these make me feel much more confident.

We are beginning to work on the major portion of the class paper in Public Policy. I’m going to be working on the economic development portion (surprise!) and am looking forward to being able to use not only what I know of the PORTSfuture project, but also economic development in general.

I’m especially looking forward to this weekend—my mom is coming to visit for Mom’s weekend! I haven’t gotten the chance to go home much this quarter, so it will be really nice to be able to spend some time with her. I’m, of course, really excited about the move to D.C., but it’s a bummer to know I’ll be so far away from my family. My little brother was in town for Palmerfest this past weekend, and it was great to see him, but the time together is always too short.

In your opinion, what are the best and worst parts of making a big move? What are ways that you have found to cope with the bad parts?

Happy Week 6!

Leave a Reply:

