An Afternoon with Senator Voinovich

I was honored this past week to be chosen as a student representative for the Voinovich School to have lunch with Senator Voinovich during his visit. Before lunch, I attended the panel discussion entitled “The key challenges facing the public sector,” where Senator Voinovich was one of the panelists. I found this discussion to be very enlightening and the level of experience that the guest speakers have working in the government sector was very impressive. After the panel discussion, we made our way over to Latitudes restaurant in the Baker Center, and I had the opportunity to sit right across the table from Senator Voinovich. Our table shared some great stories and brainstormed ways that we can expand the Voinovich School and improve the experience for students. I enjoyed being able to contribute my thoughts to this conversation and feel that we came up with some great improvements to make the Voinovich School experience even better than it already is.

On another note, I am FINALLY finished with my thesis. Well….almost. I feel like I have been saying that for the past week, but every day I continue to tweak it and make corrections because I am a perfectionist at heart. My thesis defense date is set for May 28th at 2:30pm in Clippinger. It is open to the public, so please stop by for some peanut butter pie and a talk about the urban composting and sustainability practices in Baltimore, Washington, D.C., and Edinburgh, Scotland.

Leave a Reply:

