Gainful Employment

Happy Week 10! This is an especially happy Week 10, of all that I have experienced because I have exceptionally good news: I GOT A JOB! Luckily for me, the impromptu trip I took a couple of weeks ago for the interview paid off and I was offered the Office Administrator job with the National Guard Youth Foundation.

The foundation supports and advocated for the National Guard Youth ChalleNGe program, which helps teens who have dropped out of high school get back into school, get their GEDs, and go to college or technical school. I very much believe that the main way to end the cycle of poverty is to ensure that youth receive and education and can, from there, have better opportunities. I’m so happy that I get to be a part of this organization, help to run the administrative end of the foundation and manage the scholarship program for graduated cadets.

I start my new job on June 11th! Which is kind of crazy since I am graduating on the 8th and will immediately have to move, but hey—I’m happy to have a job and not stress about job applications anymore.

I feel that I was able to get this job because of my experiences through graduate school with the Voinovich School. I’m looking forward now to expanding my professional competencies in the workplace and gaining more fulltime experience with a nonprofit organization.

I’m off now to procrastinate my final policy paper and celebrate the new job! Hope everyone has a great week!

One thought on “Gainful Employment

Leave a Reply:

