My Summer Job

Greetings Voinovich School readers! My apologies for not having posted sooner this summer, as I’m sure you’ve read and/or experienced: we here in Appalachia have been experiencing major power outages due to the storms of late, and I haven’t been able to do much.

This summer, I am working on a congressional campaign in my home state, and have been getting some great experience. I really feel like the education I’ve had with the Voinovich School thus far prepared me well for what I’ve done with the campaign.

Because we’re able to tailor our degree to our interests, we can prepare ourselves for what we want our future career to be. For example, last year, I was able to write a literature review about the effects of social media on campaigns & elections, and in my job I help produce content for social media outlets. Even the little things, like using Excel, have proved to be useful. I think the most valuable skill I’ve learned that I can apply daily, though, is research. The ability to research is a crucial skill in any job, especially politics, so I’m grateful that I’ve learned so much in the past year.

I can’t wait to share more of my experiences with you as the summer moves along!

Leave a Reply:

