A new semester means new opportunities!

I have to say that my first semester in the MPA program was everything I thought it would be and more. I walked away from those 15 weeks a more well-rounded student
and feeling more prepared for my future-whatever that may hold. I was not sure how this semester would (or could) surpass my experiences out of the gate, however I am more than pleased to announce that it’s shaping up to hold some amazing opportunities.

My classes this semester are qualitative methods, public organization theory and politics as well as a special topics class in economic development. I will be performing an environmental scan as an intern for Ohio Campus Compact as well as working with my advisor on different nonprofit projects throughout the semester (my current project is a grant review from 2007-2012 with the Athens Foundation). I can whole-heartedly say that my tasks this semester are going to push me out of my comfort zone, which is a much-welcomed challenge.

The most exciting part about this semester is the new experiences. All my classes are new subjects that I have not studied before and for the first time I will be conducting research for nonprofits. My social life is going to take a serious hit for the next 15 weeks while I tackle my readings, write papers and work on my projects…but when it is all said and done I will have gained invaluable new skill sets that will bring me one step closer to making some decisions about what I want to do after graduation next year. I am looking forward to the upcoming weeks and sharing my experiences.

Leave a Reply:

