Voinovich School’s Environmental Studies program promotes environmental consciousness

By Bethany N. Bella

“Working with the Voinovich School is already presenting me such a focus for my future. It’s wonderful to see that there are…other people on this campus so DEDICATED to promoting environmental consciousness. I don’t know where I would be now, had I not found the Environmental Studies program!!”

I wrote this last week in an email to former Environmental Studies Certificate graduate and Voinovich School Research Scholar Alex Slaymaker. Alex, like many of the Voinovich School’s alum, is already off saving the environment, earning her masters in “Sustainable Solutions” at Arizona State University. How cool is that?

I meant what I said in the email: I don’t know where I would be without the Voinovich School’s dedication to and expertise on the environment. In just my short time here (two months) as a research scholar, I’ve nearly learned all the ins-and-outs of the School’s operations, had my toe in a few photo projects, and began assisting the Ohio University Zero Waste Initiative with social media advice.

Granted, I’m not out there confronting poachers on the front lines, or lobbying to governments that the trees are worth saving. But the work that I’m doing is the next step forward in my environmental services career.

The network of previous Voinovich faculty and students – as well as present-day connections – is quite extensive. From visual journalists to climate science researchers to government agency employees, the Voinovich School seems to have a reach in almost every aspect of the environmental employment sector. I have no doubt that I’ll be able to locate an individual from the Voinovich School doing exactly what it is I want to be doing –– once I figure that out.

In the meantime, I’ll be assisting the Voinovich School’s Environmental Studies program with internal and external communications, as well as volunteering my efforts towards the Zero Waste Initiative.

As an undeniable environmental advocate, I couldn’t have found a better home in the Voinovich School at Ohio University.

2 thoughts on “Voinovich School’s Environmental Studies program promotes environmental consciousness

  1. Your words about the School are very kind. The staff and faculty share that same enthusiasm. Many of us came to OU and the Voinovich because of the learning by doing applied approach in the classroom and in the many applied projects making a difference in many of the “real worlds” we’re all working in.

  2. Pingback: Voinovich School Blog: Environmental Studies program promotes environmental consciousness | Bethany N. Bella

Leave a Reply:

